Skip to main content

Under 21 Fixtures

There is one national division comprised of 22 Category 1 Academies, and Reading will come up against the likes of Arsenal, Manchester City and Manchester United.

Having played each other once, either home or away, the top four teams in the table will progress to the semi-final stage and final to determine the overall Barclays Under-21 Premier League winners. The Academies who finish first and fourth in the League will meet in one semi-final, with the former at home, while the second and third-placed clubs will meet in the other semi-final, with the League runners-up deemed the home team.

This season each team is required to play at least three of their home matches at their nominated home stadium, with training grounds and Academy venues permitted for the staging of up to three home matches. The Royals will confirm the third venue for their BPLU21 clashes in due course.

Barclays Under 21 Premier League

Date Opponent Attendance Venue Result Text Stats Reports
Fri 17 Aug
West Ham
West Ham Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 3 - 1 L   Report
Fri 24 Aug
West Brom
West Brom Under 21 Premier League Madejski Stadium
KO 7pm H 6 - 1 W   Report
Mon 03 Sep
Norwich
Norwich Under 21 Premier League
KO 2pm A 0 - 3 W   Report
Fri 14 Sep
Everton
Everton Under 21 Premier League
KO 1.30pm H 1 - 1 D   Report
Fri 28 Sep
Blackburn
Blackburn Under 21 Premier League
KO 1.30pm H 2 - 4 L   Report
Mon 08 Oct
Arsenal
Arsenal Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 2 - 0 L   Report
Mon 15 Oct
Bolton
Bolton Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 2 - 2 D   Report
Mon 22 Oct
Norwich
Norwich Under 21 Premier League Madejski Stadium
KO 7pm H 3 - 0 W   Report
Mon 29 Oct
West Brom
West Brom Under 21 Premier League
KO 2pm A 3 - 3 D   Report
Fri 02 Nov
West Ham
West Ham Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 3 - 0 W   Report
Mon 12 Nov
Bolton
Bolton Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 0 - 0 D   Report
Sun 18 Nov
Everton
Everton Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm A 0 - 0 D   Report
Tue 27 Nov
Blackburn
Blackburn Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 2 - 0 L   Report
Sun 02 Dec
Arsenal
Arsenal Under 21 Premier League - Madejski Stadium
KO 1pm H 2 - 2 D   Report
Mon 14 Jan
Man City
Man City Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm A 3 - 1 L   Report
Wed 30 Jan
Newcastle United
Newcastle United Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm A 0 - 3 W   Report
Mon 11 Feb
Norwich City
Norwich City Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 0 - 0 D   Report
Mon 18 Feb
Crystal Palace
Crystal Palace Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 3 - 2 W   Report
Sun 03 Mar
Man City
Man City Under 21 Premier League - Madejski Stadium
KO 1pm H 3 - 0 W   Report
Mon 11 Mar
Stoke City
Stoke City Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 0 - 1 W   Report
Mon 18 Mar
Newcastle United
Newcastle United Under 21 Premier League
KO 11am H 1 - 1 D   Report
Mon 25 Mar
Stoke City
Stoke City Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 1 - 0 W   Report
Mon 01 Apr
Norwich
Norwich Under 21 Premier League
KO 2pm A 0 - 1 W   Report
Thu 11 Apr
Bolton
Bolton Under 21 Premier League
KO 7pm A 1 - 0 L   Report
Mon 15 Apr
Crystal Palace
Crystal Palace Under 21 Premier League
KO 2pm A 2 - 0 L   Report
Mon 22 Apr
Bolton
Bolton Under 21 Premier League
KO 1pm H 1 - 2 L   Report