Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Alfie's sensational season

20 May 2013

Le Fondre's impressive season

Adam Le Fondre completed his first season in the top flight in typically clinical fashion on Sunday afternoon, to round off a commendable campaign in the Barclays Premier League.

The 26-year-old finished with 12 league goals, equalling the tallies of Juan Mata, Sergio Aguero and Wayne Rooney.

Indeed only three English players scored more top flight goals than Le Fondre, with Theo Walcott (14), Frank Lampard (15) and Rickie Lambert (15) just ahead of him in the charts. 

However ‘Alfie’ has the best goals per minute ratio out of that group, converting once every 126.1 minutes of league football this season compared to Lampard (129.9), Walcott (163.2) and Lambert (208.4).

Le Fondre now holds the Premier League record for goals as a substitute in a single campaign - notching his eighth at Upton Park, two ahead of previous record holders Jermain Defoe and Tore Andre Flo.

And nobody could accuse the frontman of being a proverbial 'flat track bully' - he's found the net against three of the top four (Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester United). 

It comes just a week after Adam was named as the Royals’ Player of the Season by the supporters, and in January he became the first Reading player ever to be voted as the official Barclays Premier League Player of the Month.

Top Substitute Scorers Since The Premier League Began
2012-13Adam Le Fondre (Reading)7
2011-12 Victor Anichebe (Everton)5
2010-11Javier Hernandez (Manchester United)5
2009-10Kevin Phillips (Birmingham City)
Jason Roberts (Blackburn Rovers)
Steven Thompson (Burnley)
2008-9Darren Bent (Tottenham)4
2007-8Marlon Harewood (Aston Villa)5
2006-7Matt Derbyshire (Blackburn Rovers)4
2005-6Collins John (Fulham)
Shefki Kuqi (Blackburn Rovers)
2004-5Robert Earnshaw (West Brom)5
2003-4Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea)
Szilard Nemeth (Middlesbrough)
Hernan Crespo (Chelsea)
2002-3Geoff Horsfield (Birmingham City)4
2001-2Jermain Defoe (West Ham)6
2000-1Julian Joachim (Aston Villa)4
1999-2000Nwankwo Kanu (Arsenal)4
1998-99Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United)5
1997-98Tore Andre Flo (Chelsea)6
1996-97Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United)3
1995-96Graham Fenton (Blackburn Rovers)5
1994-95David Lowe (Leicester City)3
1993-94Alex Mathie (Newcastle United)3

Advertisement block