Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Our record remains

1 October 2013

1985/6 achievement remains

The Royals' record for the most consecutive wins from the start of a Football League campaign is still in tact, after Leyton Orient drew with Walsall at the weekend.

The League One side were beginning to edge towards our record of 13 successive wins, set in 1985, as they accumulated eight wins in a row - but a 1-1 draw with the 10-man Saddlers means that we still hold the record.

It was under Ian Branfoot that Reading achieved this feat, as a truly fantastic start to the season set the Royals on the way to the Division Three title and promotion to the second tier of English Football.

The Royals saw off Blackpool (1-0), Plymouth (1-0), Bristol Rovers (3-2), Cardiff (3-1), Walsall (2-1), Rotherham (2-1), Brentford (2-1), Swansea (2-0), Doncaster (1-0), Chesterfield (4-2), Bolton (1-0), Newport (2-0) and Lincoln (1-0) to set the record.

Reading legend Trevor Senior was the top goalscorer throughout the division that campaign, with 27 in the league and 31 in all competitions for the Royals.

Click here for more Reading FC records and our club honours.

Advertisement block