Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Round Two - When's the Draw?

13 August 2014

Royals progress in Capital One Cup

The draw for the second round of the Capital One Cup will take place on Wednesday evening from around 9.45pm.

Reading have been seeded for the draw and will be ball number 17.

Nigel Adkins' men are in the hat after a 3-1 victory over Newport County at Madejski Stadium, with Pavel Pogrebnyak, Nick Blackman and Craig Tanner scoring.

The Royals will find out their second round opponents live on Sky Sports after the televised Cup clash between Coventry City and Cardiff, which kicks off at 7.45pm.

Second Round ties will be played on Tue/Wed 26/27 August either Home or Away – no replays – all Capital One Cup ties must be decided in one match on the night, with 30 mins of Extra Time and then Penalties if necessary.

Thirteen Premier League clubs enter the competition at this stage, with the remaining seven joining in Round 3 as they are involved in European competition. The draw is seeded, with the top 12 Football League clubs still in the competition (based on last season’s finishing positions) joining the 13 Premier League clubs as seeds.

Unseeded clubs will be subject to a pre-draw to determine a home or away match, with each unseeded team facing a seeded side. Seeded clubs will be drawn out live on Sky Sports News with the draw numbers as listed below.

Please note the final list of seeded teams is dependent upon the result of the Coventry City versus Cardiff City match this evening.

Seeded Teams and Draw Numbers
1. AFC Bournemouth
2. Aston Villa
3. Bolton Wanderers
4. Brighton & Hove Albion
5. Burnley
6. Crystal Palace
7. Derby County
8. Fulham
9. Leeds United
10. Leicester City
11. Manchester United
12. Middlesbrough
13. Newcastle United
14. Norwich City
15. Nottingham Forest
16. Queens Park Rangers
17. Reading
18. Southampton
19. Stoke City
20. Sunderland
21. Swansea City
22. Watford
23. West Bromwich Albion
24. West Ham United
25. Cardiff City or Sheffield Wednesday*

*If Cardiff City win, Sheffield Wednesday will be added to the UNSEEDED list.

Unseeded Teams

Birmingham City
Bradford City
Burton Albion
Charlton Athletic
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Doncaster Rovers
Huddersfield Town
Leyton Orient
Milton Keynes Dons
Northampton Town
Oxford United
Port Vale
Preston North End
Rotherham United
Scunthorpe United
Shrewsbury Town
Swindon Town
Sheffield United / Mansfield Town
Sheffield Wednesday or Coventry City**

** If Coventry City beat Cardiff City, Sheffield Wednesday are added to the SEEDED list.

Advertisement block