Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

New scholars inducted

2 July 2014

Academy intake announced

The Reading FC Academy have officially confirmed their new intake of scholars for the 2014/15 season.

The new batch of youth players were inducted on Tuesday at Madejski Stadium, with Academy manager Eamonn Dolan there to welcome them, alongside assistants David Dodds, Lee Herron and Michael Gilkes.

As well as signing contracts, the 14 youngsters listened to talks from figures around the club on subjects such as education, sports science and social media.

Joining the Academy as first year scholars are: Joe Tupper, Justin Thompson-Lee, Daniel Akinwumni, Ryan East, Harrison Bennett, Sam Smith, Gabriel Osho, Luke Southwood, Joshua Barrett, Joshua Chatee, Conor Davis, Axel Andresson, Sindri Scheving, Billy Collings.

Most have graduated to the under 18s after a successful season at under 16 level, though a few new faces will be joining the group. Axel Andresson, a centre half, arrives from Icelandic club Afturelding, fellow Icelander Sindri Scheving joins the Royals from Valur and Sam Smith comes to Hogwood Park from Manchester United. Irishman Conor Davis is also set to sign from Dublin based outfit Templelogue United.

This season’s second year scholars, many of whom featured for our under 18s in the 2013/14 campaign, are: Daniel Williams, Tennai Watson, Noor Husin, Lewis Ward, Amadu Waritay, Hammad Lawal, Lewis Collins, Harry Cardwell, Tomas Urbancic, Marc Ethelston, Jake Sheppard, Zak Jules.

Advertisement block