Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Number crunching for Monday’s FA Cup draw

6 December 2015

All the balls to look out for in third round ties

Reading supporters will be looking out for ball number 33 in Monday evening’s FA Cup third round draw, which takes place at the traditional time of 7pm.

This year’s third round draw is being screened on BBC Two, and broadcast live from the Sport Wales National Centre in Cardiff – the city host the final at Millennium Stadium between 2001 and 2007.  Wales manager Chris Coleman will be one of the guests drawing the balls from the hat.

It is arguably the most keenly-anticipated date on the football calendar, when clubs from the top two tiers of the game and the 20 qualifiers from previous rounds get drawn against each other.

Hopefully for Reading it will be the start of another exciting adventure – our trip to Wembley last season for the semi-final marked our best ever performance in the competition.

This year, the lowest-ranked team still left in the competition are Salford City – the Northern Premier League side, who are co-owned by Phil and Gary Neville, Nicky Butt, Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs, will need to overcome Hartlepool United in a replay (ball 62) if they are to continue their remarkable run.

Other non-League sides to have a vested interest are Eastleigh (49) after they overcame Stourbridge on Saturday, Whitehawk (63) who took Dagenham & Redbridge to a replay with a final-minute equaliser on Sunday, and Grimsby (53) who will face Shrewsbury Town after the draw is made on Monday evening.

All ties are scheduled to take place over the long weekend of Friday 8th – Monday 11th January.  Once our draw is made, we will announce the exact date and time of kick-off and ticket arrangements in due course.

The draw numbers in full are:

1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Arsenal
3 Aston Villa
4 Birmingham City
5 Blackburn Rovers
6 Bolton Wanderers
7 Brentford
8 Brighton & Hove Albion
9 Bristol City
10 Burnley
11 Cardiff City
12 Charlton Athletic
13 Chelsea
14 Crystal Palace
15 Derby County
16 Everton
17 Fulham
18 Huddersfield Town
19 Hull City
20 Ipswich Town
21 Leeds United
22 Leicester City
23 Liverpool
24 Manchester City
25 Manchester United
26 Middlesbrough
27 Milton Keynes Dons
28 Newcastle United
29 Norwich City
30 Nottingham Forest
31 Preston North End
32 Queens Park Rangers
33 Reading
34 Rotherham United
35 Sheffield Wednesday
36 Southampton
37 Stoke City
38 Sunderland
39 Swansea City
40 Tottenham Hotspur
41 Watford
42 West Bromwich Albion
43 West Ham United
44 Wolverhampton Wanderers
45 Bradford City
46 Newport County
47 Peterborough United
48 Portsmouth
49 Eastleigh
50 Northampton Town
51 Exeter City
52 Doncaster Rovers
53 Grimsby Town or Shrewsbury Town
54 Yeovil Town
55 Bury
56 Carlisle United
57 Leyton Orient or Scunthorpe United
58 Wycombe Wanderers
59 Colchester United
60 Chesterfield or Walsall
61 Sheffield United
62 Salford City or Hartlepool United
63 Dagenham & Redbridge or Whitehawk
64 Oxford United

Advertisement block