Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Report: Under 21s vs Harper's Basingstoke

19 July 2015

Details from Soccer AM Stadium

Reading's Under 21s went down 3-2 to Basingstoke in their second friendly of pre-season.

Having beaten Beaconsfield 7-0 on Tuesday night, our youngsters took on a Town side who made the play-offs last season and included former Royal James Harper in their midfield ranks.

With a number of our Under 21s on duty with the first team away to Spurs, we gave Under 21 experience to many players for the first time at the Soccer AM Stadium.

Having made eleven changes at half time, we went 2-0 up thanks to a Noor Husin strike and then an own goal.

But three goals in just a few minutes turned the game on its head, former Reading Academy man Liam Enver-Marum getting the first before George Hallahan notched two in quick succession.

So while the final score was naturally disappointing, the younger players and trialists who lined up in the second half will learn from the valuable experience.

Our Under 21s are next in action on Tuesday night when we send teams to both Hungerford and Braintree.

Thanks to Nigel Smith for the images.

REPORT: Under 21s beaten by the odd goal in five at Basingstoke: http://t.co/yIgW65b7hwpic.twitter.com/rUMrYl5iZ1

— Reading FC (@ReadingFC) July 19, 2015


Pre-season friendlies
Tue 15th Jul: Beaconsfield 0-7 Reading
Sat 18th Jul, 3pm: Basingstoke 3-2 Reading
Tue 21st Jul, 7:45pm: Hungerford A
Sat 25th Jul, 3pm: Plymouth A
Wed 29th Jul, 2pm: Bournemouth (behind closed doors)
Sat 1st Aug, 3pm: Maidenhead A

Barclays U21 Premier League, Division One
Mon 10th Aug, 7pm: Middlesbrough A at Hartlepool
Mon 17th Aug, 2pm: Sunderland H at Hogwood
Mon 24th Aug, 7pm: Liverpool H at Madejski Stadium
Mon 14th Sep, 7pm: Spurs A at TBC
Mon 21st Sep, 7pm: Southampton H at Wycombe
Fri 25th Sep, 7:05pm: Chelsea A at Stamford Bridge
Mon 26th Oct, 7pm: Norwich H at Madejski Stadium
Mon 2nd Nov, 7pm: Man Utd A at Leigh Sports
Mon 23rd Nov, 7pm: Leicester A at TBC
Mon 30th Nov, 7pm: Everton H at Wycombe
Sun 6th Dec, 2pm: Sunderland A at Eppleton
Mon 14th Dec, 7pm: Middlesbrough H at Wycombe
Mon 11th Jan, 7pm: Man Utd H at Wycombe
Mon 25th Jan, 2pm: Norwich A at Colney
Sun 31st Jan, 2pm: Liverpool A at Chester
Mon 8th Feb, 2pm: Leicester H at Hogwood
Mon 22nd Feb, 7pm: Southampton A at Staplewood
Mon 7th Mar, 7pm: Chelsea H at Madejski
Mon 14th Mar, 7pm: Everton A at Southport
Mon 4th Apr, 7pm: Spurs H at Wycombe
Mon 11th Apr, 7pm: Man City H at Madejski
Sat 23rd Apr, 1pm: Man City A at City Academy

Please note that game at Hogwood are not open to the public. All games are subject to change.

Advertisement block