Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ball 22 in tonight’s EFL Cup draw…

24 August 2016

Ties to be decided after Accrington vs Burnley

Following our shoot-out win against MK Dons on Tuesday evening, we will learn our EFL Cup third round opponents when the teams are drawn on Wednesday evening.

And Royals supporters should look out for ball number 22 - that's our number that will be drawn from the hat.

Once again, the ties will be decided live on Sky Sports after the conclusion of their live broadcast of Accrington Stanley vs Burnley.

That Lancashire derby is one of four remaining fixtures yet to be played – 15 miles separate the teams, compared to the 300 miles that Bournemouth fans will have to travel to visit Morecambe’s Globe Arena on the same evening.

Despite 10 Championships clubs exiting in round one, there have been far fewer high-profile casualties so far at this stage – the biggest upset in round two so far has been West Brom’s exit at Northampton, courtesy of spot-kicks.

There will be no seeding for round three – and this is the stage where the 25 winners from the second round will be joined by the seven Premier League sides that are also competing in Europe this season.

All third-round ties are due to be played during the week commencing 19th September.  Once we learn our opponents and venue this evening, we will arrange ticketing and an exact date and kick-off time and announce in due course.

Here are the ball numbers in full...

1. Arsenal
2. Blackburn Rovers
3. Brighton & Hove Albion
4. Bristol City
5. Chelsea
6. Crystal Palace
7. Derby County
8. Everton
9. Gillingham
10. Hull City
11. Leeds United
12. Leicester City
13. Liverpool
14. Manchester City
15. Manchester United
16. Newcastle United
17. Northampton Town
18. Norwich City
19. Nottingham Forest
20. Preston North End
21. Queens Park Rangers
22. Reading
23. Southampton
24. Stoke City
25. Swansea City
26. Tottenham Hotspur
27. West Ham United
28. Wolverhampton Wanderers
29. Accrington Stanley / Burnley
30. Fulham / Middlesbrough
31. Morecambe / AFC Bournemouth
32. Sunderland / Shrewsbury Town

Advertisement block