Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Look out for ball number 32 in Monday’s third-round draw!

5 December 2016

All the details for the FA Cup draw this weekend

Reading have been assigned ball number 32 for this year’s FA Cup third round draw, which will take's place tonight (Monday 5th December).

Coverage of the draw begins at 7pm on BT Sport 1 and BBC 2 and takes place at BT Tower – the 44 clubs from the Premier League and Championship will enter at this stage, including the Royals!

There they will be joined by the 20 winners from the second round – although eight ties are yet to be resolved.

Lincoln host Oldham this evening, while six of the ties went to replays after teams couldn't earn a decisive result over the weekend.  And Stourbridge, the lowest-ranked team left in the competition, are yet to host Northampton after a frozen pitch resulted in a postponed match on Sunday.

There will be at least three non-League sides playing in the next round - Barrow and Sutton United both upset EFL opposition over the weekend, while Eastleigh and FC Halifax Town will have to play out a replay.  Macclesfield could join them if they can negotiate a way past Oxford in their replay, while Lincoln will at least be in the hat before this evening's game begins.

It is 15 seasons since we’ve drawn a non-League opponent in round three – that came in 2001/02 when we hosted Welling, and squeezed through to the next stage with a 1-0 win.  In the last couple of years we have had to visit Huddersfield on both occasions – we’d take that again if it meant another run to Wembley!

The draw numbers to look out for are as follows…

1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Arsenal
3 Aston Villa
4 Barnsley
5 Birmingham City
6 Blackburn Rovers
7 Brentford
8 Brighton & Hove Albion
9 Bristol City
10 Burnley
11 Burton Albion
12 Cardiff City
13 Chelsea
14 Crystal Palace
15 Derby County
16 Everton
17 Fulham
18 Huddersfield Town
19 Hull City
20 Ipswich Town
21 Leeds United
22 Leicester City
23 Liverpool
24 Manchester City
25 Manchester United
26 Middlesbrough
27 Newcastle United
28 Norwich City
29 Nottingham Forest
30 Preston North End
31 Queens Park Rangers
32 Reading
33 Rotherham United
34 Sheffield Wednesday
35 Southampton
36 Stoke City
37 Sunderland
38 Swansea City
39 Tottenham Hotspur
40 Watford
41 West Bromwich Albion
42 West Ham United
43 Wigan Athletic
44 Wolverhampton Wanderers
45 AFC Wimbledon
46 Wycombe Wanderers
47 Millwall
48 Macclesfield Town or Oxford United
49 Bolton Wanderers
50 Blackpool
51 Stourbridge or Northampton Town
52 Notts County or Peterborough United
53 Cambridge United
54 Port Vale
55 Barrow
56 Accrington Stanley
57 Lincoln City or Oldham Athletic
58 Luton Town
59 Sutton United
60 Eastleigh or FC Halifax Town
61 Shrewsbury Town or Fleetwood Town
62 Charlton Athletic or Milton Keynes Dons
63 Plymouth Argyle vs Newport County AFC
64 Rochdale

Advertisement block