Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Key dates for the 2016/17 calendar…

23 June 2016

A look at some of the stand-out fixtures in the new campaign

We’ve got all 46 of the Sky Bet Championship fixtures scheduled in – plus our EFL Cup tie against Plymouth – so it’s time to start planning!

You can take a look at the full schedule for the 2016/17 campaign by clicking here.

As always, we know our fans will be eyeing which away days they can get to, making arrangements for the holiday periods – and gearing up to the opening weekend!

It can be a little bit tough to digest all of the fixtures at once… which is why we’ve broken down the fixtures into some bitesize chunks.  Take a look below at some of the key dates for your calendar.

Opening and closing weekends
Preston North End, who we closed our home campaign against last season, will visit us for a 3pm kick-off on the opening weekend on Saturday 6th August.  Nine months and a day later, the campaign will be brought to a close with a trip to Burton Albion on Sunday 7th May.

Trips to London
Our visits to the capital are always well-attended by the travelling support – there are only three London clubs in the Championship this season, and we visit all of them before Christmas.  The first trip to the Big Smoke is on Tuesday 27th September to visit Brentford’s Griffin Park, and that’s followed by Queens Park Rangers at Loftus Road on Saturday 15th October, and finally Fulham on Saturday 3rd December at Craven Cottage.

Christmas and Easter
We’re home for Christmas!  The two festive games, on Boxing Day and New Year’s Eve, both take place at Madejski Stadium – Norwich visit on Monday 26th December and Fulham arrive on Saturday 31st December, with both games kicking off at 3pm.  Monday 2nd January is also a Bank Holiday, where we will travel to Bristol City’s Ashton Gate in time to kick off at 3pm.  Meanwhile the Easter matches are provisionally arranged to take place on Saturday 15th April away at Aston Villa, and Easter Monday 17th April at home against Rotherham.

Midweek matches
Excluding the Christmas and Easter matches, we’ve got five home matches under the Madejski Stadium floodlights and four away from home.  We host 8pm kick-offs against Birmingham (Tue 13 Sept), Aston Villa (Tue 18 Oct), Brentford (Tue 14 Feb), Newcastle (Tue 7 Mar) and Blackburn (Tue 4 Apr).  And midweek trips away come against Newcastle (Wed 17 Aug), Brentford (Tue 27 Sep), Leeds (Tue 13 Dec) and Birmingham (Tue 31 Jan).

Tumbling from the top tier
Aston Villa, Norwich and Newcastle – who were all relegated from the Premier League – are the bookies’ favourites to go up this time, and will offer stern opposition.  We travel to St James’ Park on Wednesday 17th August before hosting the Magpies on Tuesday 7th March; the Canaries visit us on Boxing Day before we travel to Carrow Road on Saturday 8th April; finally Aston Villa come for a midweek game on Tuesday 18th October and we make the return trip to the Midlands on Saturday 15th April.

Lifted from League 1
Burton, Wigan and Barnsley all climbed out of League 1 to join us in the second tier for 2016/17 – and our first visit to these new stadiums is Oakwell on Saturday 17th September, before a trip to the DW Stadium on Saturday 5th November and finally Pirelli on the closing weekend, Sunday 7th May.  Conversely we host the Brewers first on Saturday 26th November, and then Barnsley on Saturday 11th February.  Our home campaign comes to a close on Saturday 29th April against the Latics.



Please note that these fixtures are subject to change – the easiest way to keep up to date with any alterations and rescheduled games is by subscribing to our fully-synced ECAL calendar – just hit the button above to get signed up on your device!

Advertisement block