Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Our first XI in STAR's 'Hall of Fame'

29 March 2016

Supporters Trust name their inaugural inductees at 'Hall of Fame' launch

In front of a packed house of STAR members, vice-presidents and guests, the first eleven names were inducted into STAR’s Reading FC Hall of Fame in the Princess Suite at Madejski Stadium on Thursday night.

Among those receiving their awards in person were former skipper Graeme Murty and former chairman Roger Smee who each said a few words to the audience.

Also present was 87 year old Johnny Walker, a Reading captain of the 1960s and relatives of two other inductees, Gordon Neate and Allen Foster.

“The Hall of Fame is a major project for STAR,” said STAR's Deputy Chairman Roger Titford. "Over the next few years we expect to get up to 150 people inducted from across the whole history of the club. At first the Hall of Fame will reside online at STAR’s website but we hope it will get a more ‘physical’ presence as the years go by."

Among this year’s other inductees are an England international (Edward Haygarth of the 1870s), a Scotland international (Murty himself) and a Wales international (Ady Williams). Also featured are a war hero (Allen Foster, 1910s), a celebrity supporter (John Arlott, the cricket commentator), two players who became directors (Smee and Joey Warburton) and a centre forward whom the Supporters’ Club helped to buy (Tommy Tait, 1930s).

The full list of this year’s inductees is as follows:

1870s Edward Haygarth
1890s Joey Warburton
1910s Allen Foster
1920s John Arlott
1930s Tommy Tait
1950s Ronnie Blackman
1960s Johnny Walker
1960s Gordon Neate
1980s Roger Smee
1990s Ady Williams
2000s Graeme Murty

The full citations and more about the Hall of Fame can be seen at under the 'Heritage' tab.

Advertisement block