Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Southwood jetting off for Korea development with England

3 November 2016

Goalkeeper called up to Under-20 squad

Reading goalkeeper Luke Southwood has once again been selected for the England Under-20 squad, will be heading to South Korea to take part in the Continental Cup in the forthcoming international break.

Paul Williams’ side will face Nigeria, Iran and the host nation in a four-nation round robin tournament – and it acts as a precursor for the Under-20 World Cup next summer, which is also held in South Korea.

And once again Royals stopper Southwood has been called up for his country, and will link up with the rest of the 24-man squad to fly out to the Far East.

The three games take place over the space of just four days – and will all kick off at 8am GMT and will be hosted at the Suwon World Cup Stadium.  Nigeria are the first opponents on Wednesday 9th November, before the Young Lions meet the hosts 24 hours later, and then they conclude the tournament when they meet Iran on Saturday 12th November.

Southwood played a match and a half for England’s Under-20s in their recent four-nation triumph – he didn’t need to make a single trip to his net during his time on the pitch, as they beat Netherlands, Germany and USA on home turf.

There is a little more competition between the sticks this time around.  As well as Grimsby Town’s loanee from Manchester United, Dean Henderson, there is also a call-up for Newcastle’s glovesman Freddie Woodman.

The squad in full is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Grimsby Town, loan from Manchester United), Luke Southwood (Reading), Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United).
Defenders:  Jake Clarke-Salter   (Bristol Rovers, loan from Chelsea), Callum Connolly (Everton), Dael Fry (Rotherham United, loan from Middlesbrough), Jonjoe Kenny (Everton), Tafari Moore (FC Utrecht, loan from Arsenal), Taylor Moore (Bristol City), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Axel Tuanzebe (Manchester United), Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur).
Midfielders: Kieran Dowell (Everton), Ovie Ejaria (Liverpool), Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal), Joshua Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur), Louis Reed (Sheffield United).
Forwards: Adam Armstrong (Barnsley, loan from Newcastle United), Isaiah Brown (Rotherham United, loan from Chelsea), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Harrison Chapman (Sheffield United, loan from Middlesbrough), Ademola Lookman (Charlton Athletic), Patrick Roberts (Celtic, loan from Manchester City), Dominic Solanke (Chelsea).

Advertisement block