Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mary Earps named in PFA Team of the Year!

20 April 2017

Goalkeeper earns peer recognition and named in select XI

Reading FC Women goalkeeper Mary Earps was announced in the FA Women’s Super League Team of the Year in Thursday morning’s announcement.

Her selection between the sticks for the performers in the division is a huge accolade – especially in such a star-studded line-up!  It’s the ultimate demonstration of peer-recognition – votes for all of the Team of the Year selection are taken from PFA members from across over 100 clubs.

Earps produced some fine displays as the Royals retained their WSL1 status in the 2016 season, and that resulted in another call-up for the England senior squad, as they headed across the Atlantic to take part in the SheBelieves Cup 2017 last month.

The nomination in a stellar list of names caps an impressive first season with the Royals since joining from Bristol Academy ahead of the 2016 campaign.  And Earps will be facing her old side (since renamed Bristol City Women) in just two days’ time, when the Spring Series kicks off on Saturday!

The 44th annual PFA Awards take place this Sunday 23rd April, and celebrates the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

Here is the PFA WSL Team of the Year in full…

Mary Earps (Reading FC Women)
Lucy Bronze (Manchester City Women)
Jenny Beattie (Manchester City Women)
Steph Houghton (Manchester City Women)
Jess Carter (Birmingham City Ladies)
Karen Carney (Chelsea Ladies)
Jill Scott (Manchester City Women)
Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal Ladies)
Caroline Weir (Liverpool Ladies)
Jane Ross (Manchester City Women)
Eniola Aluko (Chelsea Ladies)

Advertisement block