Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Jade Moore in contention for Lionesses award

Royals midfielder in the running for personal accolade

17 August 2017

Reading FC Women midfielder Jade Moore has been shortlisted for the Vauxhall England Women’s 2017 Player of the Year award for her contributions in the European Championships!

Club News

Fara Williams MBE joins Reading FC Women!

16 August 2017

The nominees for the Vauxhall England Women’s Player of the Year were revealed on Thursday by the Football Association… Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze and Arsenal duo Jordan Nobbs and Jodie Taylor complete the quartet of shortlisted players.

The 26-year old played every minute of England’s opening two games of the tournament this summer (a 6-0 win against Scotland and a 2-0 victory over Spain), before being rested for the final group game against Portugal.  

The Royals midfielder returned to the starting line-up to help England make history, beating France for the first time in 43 years in an incredibly tense quarter-final in Deventer. The Sheffield born midfielder also started the semi-final of the Championships, where hosts Holland knocked out the Lionesses.

She faces stiff competition for the award in another impressive year for the national team.  These are the other contenders:

  • Lucy Bronze: England’s right-back was selected for the UEFA Women's EURO 2017 Best Eleven Team of the Tournament
  • Jordan Nobbs: The Lionnesses’ vice-captain played every minute of the Lionesses’ Euro 2017 qualifying campaign and went on to be a key member of Mark Sampson’s team in Holland
  • Jodie Taylor: The Arsenal and England striker finished this summer’s tournament as the Golden Boot winner and only the third English footballer ever to score a hat-trick at a major tournament, after Geoff Hurst and Gary Lineker

The awards are to be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Friday 8th September and will celebrate the best of international and domestic women’s football.

They will recognise the achievements of clubs competing in The FA Women’s Super League (FA WSL) and FA Women’s Premier League (FA WPL), along with grassroots football through the presentation of the Best Participation and Unsung Hero Awards.

Supporters can vote for their Player of the Year now, with the winner announced at The FA Women’s Football Awards on Friday 8th September. Voting closes on Wednesday 23rd August… so don’t delay!  Head to The FA’s website to vote for Jade by clicking here.

Advertisement block