Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Loader selected for England U18s double-header with Brazil and South Africa

Youngster called up for national-team duty

24 August 2017

Royals forward Danny Loader has once again been called up for national team duty – for the first time, he will link up with the Under-18 squad for a pair of fixtures against Brazil and South Africa next month.

Loader, 16, has 24 caps for the Young Lions across U17 and U16 age levels – and has scored on six occasions.  And now, for the first time, he’ll link up with the U18 age group for a pair of friendlies in the Midlands.

The youngster is the latest player to represent the Royals at senior level, having debuted against Millwall in the last round of the Carabao Cup as an extra-time sub.

This England age-group are still eligible for the FIFA Under-17 World Cup, which takes place in October in India… these two friendly fixtures will serve as preparations for that tournament.  A majority of those involved – Loader included – were in Steve Cooper’s U17 squad which were runners-up at the U17 European Championships in Croatia in May.

The first of the two games is against their Brazilian counterparts, and takes place at Shrewsbury Town on Friday 1st September.  And then the Young Lions head to Leek Town on Monday 4th September to meet South Africa.  Both games kick off at 7pm.

The England Under-18 squad in full is as follows: Curtis Anderson (Manchester City), Aidan Barlow (Manchester United),  Rhian Brewster (Liverpool), Joseph Bursik (Stoke City), Billy Crelin (Fleetwood Town), Timothy Eyoma (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Lewis Gibson (Everton), Angel Gomes (Manchester United), Marc Guehi (Chelsea), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Nya Kirby (Crystal Palace), Joel Latibeaudiere (Manchester City), Danny Loader (Reading), George McEachran (Chelsea), Matt O’Riley (Fulham), Tashan Oakley-Boothe (Tottenham Hotspur), Jonathan Panzo (Chelsea), Jadon Sancho (Manchester City),  Steven Sessegnon (Fulham), Oliver Skipp (Tottenham Hotspur), Emile Smith-Rowe (Arsenal), Jake Vokins (Southampton).

Advertisement block