Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Academy

Four PL2 games to take place at Madejski Stadium

22 league games provisionally arranged for youngsters

27 July 2017

Madejski Stadium is scheduled to host four of our Under-23 squad’s Premier League 2 fixtures in the upcoming campaign – Aston Villa, Brighton, Wolves and Stoke will all visit the home of the Royals in league action.

A further four games are due to be held at Adams Park, and three are listed to be taking place behind closed doors at Hogwood Park.

There are a number of other fixtures which are also due to take place at senior sides’ stadia on the road… our visits to Brighton, Wolves, Middlesbrough and Norwich are all scheduled to be played at first-team venues, as well as Southampton where our campaign begins on Monday 14th August.

It’ll mean a trip to St Mary’s for our youngsters – a similar age-group travelled there last year in the Checkatrade Trophy and took a penalty shoot-out win in the knock-out stages.

The Premier League 2 takes on the same format as last season – games home and away against each of the 11 other members of the division, with squads able to name up to three overage outfield players and one over age goalkeeper in matchday squads.

Both the Royals and our first opponents of the new campaign Southampton took a step down to the second tier this summer after occupying the bottom two places in the 12-team top flight.  In a concertinaed division, it was only goal difference that kept Tottenham up at our expense. 

And a new campaign ushers in hopes of promotion – but more importantly, plenty of competitive football against some of the brightest talents in England for our fledgling players, and potentially a pathway to the first team!

Academy

Royals accept invitation into Checkatrade Trophy

30 June 2017

Liam Kelly was the real success story of last year’s PL2 campaign – after beginning the season as part of our youth squad, his impressive performances allowed him to establish himself in Jaap Stam’s first-team plans and ultimately make appearances at the Emirates, Old Trafford and Wembley for our senior team.

We will also be involved in the Premier League Cup and the Premier League International Cup this year – the draws will soon be made for both.  We are also entering an Under-21 team into the Checkatrade Trophy – we have visits to Southend, Colchester and Gillingham forthcoming, with dates to be announced soon.

Here is the fixture list in full our Premier League 2 league fixtures – these will appear in the ‘Under-23 Fixtures’ section of our website soon.  All fixture dates, times and venues are subject to change.

Southampton vs Reading (St Mary’s)
Monday 14 August 2017, 7pm 

Reading vs Blackburn Rovers (Hogwood Park – behind closed doors)
Friday 18 August 2017, 1pm

Brighton & Hove Albion vs Reading (American Express Community Stadium)
Friday 25 August 2017, 7pm 

Reading vs Fulham (Adams Park)
Monday 11 September 2017, 7pm

Wolverhampton Wanderers vs Reading (Molineux)
Monday 18 September 2017, 7pm

Reading vs Norwich City (Hogwood Park – behind closed doors)
Monday 25 September 2017, 1pm

Middlesbrough vs Reading (Riverside)
Sunday 15 October 2017, 1pm 

Reading vs Aston Villa (Madejski Stadium)
Monday 23 October 2017, 7pm

West Bromwich Albion vs Reading (Aggborough)
Monday 30 October 2017, 7pm

Newcastle United vs Reading (Northumberland FA)
Monday 20 November 2017, 7pm

Stoke City vs Reading (TBC)
Sunday 26 November 2017, 2pm 

Blackburn Rovers vs Reading (Lancashire FA)
Monday 11 December 2017, 7pm

Reading vs Southampton (Hogwood Park – behind closed doors)
Monday 18 December 2017, 12pm 

Reading vs Brighton & Hove Albion (Madejski Stadium)
Monday 8 January 2018, 7pm

Fulham vs Reading (Motspur Park)
Friday 12 January 2018, 7pm

Reading vs Wolverhampton Wanderers (Madejski Stadium)
Monday 29 January 2018, 7pm

Norwich City vs Reading (Carrow Road)
Sunday 4 February 2018, 2pm 

Reading vs Middlesbrough (Adams Park)
Sunday 18 February 2018, 1pm 

Reading vs West Bromwich Albion (Adams Park)
Monday 5 March 2018, 7pm 

Aston Villa vs Reading (Bescot Stadium)
Monday 12 March 2018, 7pm 

Reading vs Newcastle United (Adams Park)
Monday 16 April 2018, 7pm 

Reading vs Stoke City (Madejski Stadium)
Monday 23 April 2018, 7pm


Advertisement block