Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Southwood is off to the World Cup!

8 May 2017

Royals stopper in England squad for the FIFA U20 tournament in South Korea

Whilst one young Royal is representing England in a major tournament, another is being named in a different England squad for the upcoming U20s World Cup in South Korea!

Danny Loader has played a part in both of England U17s' wins in the European Championships which are currently playing out and, at midday today, the England squad for the FIFA U20 World Cup was named by head coach Paul Simpson - Royals Academy graduate goalkeeper Luke Southwood was included in the 21-man squad which will travel to the Far East this summer.

After a successful campaign this season, which has seen the Young Lions beat nations such as Germany, Netherlands, France and USA in a series of warm-up competitions, Simpson finalised his squad ahead of bringing the players together at St. George’s Park this afternoon.

And Southwood will head east with his teammates to Osaka in Japan tomorrow, where the squad will spend a six-day training camp ahead of the tournament.

19-year-old Southwood has guarded the Royals goal on 17 occasions for our Under-23 side this season, notably keeping a clean sheet in a 2-0 win away at Manchester United earlier this season.

He also represented his country and kept a clean sheet in a 2-0 win over Senegal as England U20s secured a Tournoi tournament victory back in March.

And now Southwood's England will kick-off their World Cup against Argentina at the Jeonju World Cup Stadium on Saturday 20th May, before they tackle Guinea at the same venue on Tuesday 23th May.

The final group game comes against host nation Korea Republic in Suwon on Friday 26th May, with the Young Lions hoping to extend their involvement beyond there as the competition heads into the knock-out stages.

England U20 squad for the FIFA U20 World Cup

1. Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United)
13. Dean Henderson (Manchester United)
21. Luke Southwood (Reading)

2. Jonjoe Kenny  (Everton)
3. Callum Connolly (Everton)
5. Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea) 
6. Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea)
12. Rico Henry (Brentford)
14. Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur)
15. Dael Fry (Middlesbrough)

4. Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth)
7. Josh Onomah (Tottenham Hotspur)
8. Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal)
18. Kieran Dowell (Everton)
19. Sheyi Ojo (Liverpool)
20. Ovie Ejaria (Liverpool)

9. Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United)
10. Dominic Solanke (Chelsea)
11. Ademola Lookman (Everton)
16. Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton)
17. Harrison Chapman (Middlesbrough)

Advertisement block