Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Pride of Reading on show at Madejski Stadium

Inspirational stories shared at Pride of Reading Awards

14 November 2017

Madejski Stadium once again played host to the annual Pride of Reading awards, hosted by celebrity Royals fan Chris Tarrant!

Inspirational stories were shared and the Pride of Reading were honoured in 16 different categories at Madejski Stadium on the day.

Royals' striker Jón Daði Böðvarsson also appeared for photos and to show his support for the event.

Hundreds turned out for the ceremony in the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre here at Madejski Stadium, with a sumptuous three-course meal served and a warm welcome for all in attendance.

The 14th running of the awards saw tears, jubilation and a celebration of inspirational people, successful individuals, businesses, and community groups all in one room as the very best of Reading was brought to the fore.

We would like to offer our congratulations to all award winners and nominees in what was an enjoyable occasion that brought the town together.


  • Local Hero Award, sponsored by Green Park: Elizabeth Monroe and PC Liz Cole
  • Business in Action businesses with over 50 employees, sponsored by Kyocera: Reading Buses
  • Business in Action for businesses with under 50 employees, sponsored by Kyocera: Jacobs the Jewellers
  • Community Champion, sponsored by Broad Street Mall: Iris Pridham
  • Charity of the Year, sponsored by Roc Search: Ken Deeks and Byte Night
  • Health Worker of the Year, sponsored by Crowne Plaza: Kath O’Hagan
  • Child of Courage, sponsored by Quintiles IMS: Callum Taylor
  • Business Environment Award, sponsored by Barton Willmore: Betterpoints Bikesmart Reading
  • School of the Year, sponsored by QWERTY: Springfield Primary School
  • Digital Ninja Award, sponsored by Microsoft: Brighter Berkshire
  • Employee of the Year, sponsored by Reading Buses: Graham Benham
  • Cultural Contribution award, sponsored by M & G Real Estate: Reading Between the Lines
  • Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by AB Walker: Paul and Teresa Caswell
  • Fundraiser of the Year, sponsored by Cream Design: Vanessa Erika Wright
  • Young Person of the Year Award, sponsored by the University of Reading: Carly Newman
  • Family of the Year, sponsored by IKEA: The family of Lauren Heath
  • Chris Tarrant Award, sponsored by The Oracle: Ben Spiller, organiser of Reading Toy Run

Advertisement block