Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

🏆 Liam Moore - Your Be Wiser Fans' Player of the Season!

Defender scoops marquee fan-voted award

28 April 2018

The votes have been counted, and we can now confirm your Be Wiser Fans' Player of the Season is Liam Moore!

Club News

📹🎙️ Not in RG2 on Saturday? Keep up with iFollow!

27 April 2018

You voted in your thousands, and Moore joins a long list of Royals to win the award including Gylfi Sigurdsson, Phil Parkinson, Steve Death, Robin Friday, Graeme Murty, Kevin Doyle and many more greats to pull on the blue and white of Reading.

Barring Chris Gunter, Moore has played more minutes than any other Royal this season, and has been one of the first names on the team-sheet ever since his move from Leicester in the summer of 2016.

He's a popular man in RG2, having also won two fan-voted Be Wiser Player of the Month awards this season.

It has been a sterling campaign for the centre-back, playing every single minute of Championship football and providing a pillar of consistency in Reading's back-line - a fine performance against QPR in March one of many highlights for Moore's season.

When a high ball heads into the defender's direction, a booming shout of "Liam's!" can often be heard in the stands at Madejski Stadium as Moore prepares for yet another challenge.

While he is known for his combative defending and tackling, he has also produced the surprising statistic of completing the 7th highest number of passes in the Championship this season!

Having also scored three goals for the Royals this season, he has started to make his presence felt going forward as well - although he has stopped plenty more rippling the Reading net!

With a consistent and commanding season from the centre-back, he earned your votes and we were delighted to present Liam with his award ahead of kick-off against Ipswich Town at Madejski Stadium.

An honourable mention also goes to Modou Barrow and Liam Kelly, who finished 2nd and 3rd in the fan poll respectively.

Reading FC Players of the Season

1963/64 Colin Meldrum
1964/65 Colin Meldrum
1965/66 Jimmy Wheeler
1966/67 George Harris
1967/68 Mike Dixon
1968/69 Peter Silvester
1969/70 Steve Death
1970/71 Terry Bell
1971/72 Gordon Cumming
1972/73 Steve Death
1973/74 Steve Death
1974/75 Robin Friday
1975/76 Robin Friday
1976/77 Steve Death
1977/78 Richie Bowman
1978/79 Richie Bowman
1979/80 Mark White
1980/81 Steve Hetzke
1981/82 Jerry Williams
1982/83 Steve Richardson
1983/84 Steve Richardson
1984/85 Steve Wood
1985/86 Steve Wood
1986/87 Kevin Bremner
1987/88 Steve Francis
1988/89 Trevor Senior
1989/90 Martin Hicks
1990/91 Keith McPherson
1991/92 Mick Gooding
1992/93 Mick Gooding
1993/94 Dylan Kerr
1994/95 Shaka Hislop
1995/96 Mick Gooding
1996/97 Trevor Morley
1997/98 Phil Parkinson
1998/99 Phil Parkinson
1999/00 Darren Caskey
2000/01 Martin Butler
2001/02 Graeme Murty
2002/03 James Harper
2003/04 Graeme Murty
2004/05 Dave Kitson 
2005/06 Kevin Doyle 
2006/07 Ivar Ingimarsson 
2007/08 Stephen Hunt 
2008/09 Chris Armstrong 
2009/10 Gylfi Sigurdsson 
2010/11 Shane Long 
2011/12 Alex Pearce 
2012/13 Adam Le Fondre 
2013/14 Jordan Obita 
2014/15 Adam Federici 
2015/16 Ali Al-Habsi 
2016/17 Ali Al-Habsi
2017/18 Liam Moore

Advertisement block