Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Look out for ball 19 in Thursday's cup draw!

Royals in the hat for the Second Round

15 August 2018

Following Tuesday’s terrific home win against Birmingham City, we will learn our opponents of the Second Round of this season’s Carabao Cup when the draw takes place live on Sky Sports this Thursday evening.

Club News

Gallery | Royals through to round two!

14 August 2018

Clement picks through positives of cup progress

14 August 2018

The ball to look out for will be number 19 in the Southern Section of the draw - potentially pairing us against Premier League sides West Ham, Bournemouth, Fulham, Southampton, Brighton, Cardiff or Watford.

Or it could set us against a League Two outfit - Exeter arguably provided upset of the round by defeating Championship outfit Ipswich via spot-kicks.

The draw is set to commence at 7pm on Thursday at the Stadium of Light – shortly before that stadium plays host to Sunderland’s tie with Sheffield Wednesday.

And if you aren’t able to get in front of a television, there’ll be live coverage through the EFL’s social channels as well.

Former Black Cats boss Mick McCarthy will be picking out the balls for one side of the draw; ex-Owls midfielder Chris Waddle selecting the opponents.

Swansea City, Stoke City and the 13 Premier League opponents who aren’t in Europe enter at this stage… along with the 35 clubs who progress through the First Round.

A pair of fine strikes by Yakou Meite and John Swift ensured we’d be in the hat; it’ll be an unseeded draw, although it will still be split into a Northern and Southern Section.

All Second Round ties are due to take place on the week commencing 27th August.

Missed any of the action?  Head to last night's Match Centre to catch up with the report or our 'As it happened' live text.

Here are the ball numbers for the Southern Section of the Second Round draw...

Southern Section Ball
AFC Bournemouth 1
AFC Wimbledon 2
Brentford 3
Brighton & Hove Albion 4
Bristol Rovers 5
Cardiff City 6
Cheltenham Town 7
Crystal Palace 8
Exeter City 9
Forest Green Rovers 10
Fulham 11
Millwall 12
MK Dons 13
Newport County AFC 14
Norwich City 15
Oxford United 16
Plymouth Argyle 17
Queens Park Rangers 18
Reading 19
Southampton 20
Swansea City 21
Watford 22
West Ham United 23
Wycombe Wanderers 24

Advertisement block