Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Carabao Cup draw this Friday!

First date of 2018/19 set this week…

11 June 2018

The Royal 2018/19 calendar will begin to take shape this Friday, when the fixtures for the first round of the Carabao Cup are drawn.

Club News

Extra time removed in Carabao Cup rule changes

8 June 2018

Steve McManaman, Louis Saha and Dennis Wise – all former winners of the competition in their playing days – will be in Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam to help conduct the draw, which will take place at 10.45am UK time.

It is the second successive season that Carabao Cup draws have taken place overseas, with events being staged in Bangkok and Beijing last season as part of the EFL’s continued efforts to build the value of the competition outside the UK.

The Royals are one of 70 EFL clubs to feature in the new-look draw, which will see teams drawn into Northern and Southern sections, but with no seeding for higher ranked sides as in previous seasons.

That means in the first round we could feasibly face a Championship opponent from the south of the country, some of our local rivals such as Swindon or Oxford, or even League 2 sides from as far afield as Exeter or Newport.  We'll find out later this week!

Matches are scheduled to take place on the week commencing 13th August, with West Bromwich Albion included, while Championship newcomers Stoke City and Swansea City will join the competition in the second round alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The full regionalisation and ball numbers are below...

  North Section   South Section
1 Accrington Stanley 1 AFC Wimbledon
2 Barnsley 2 Aston Villa
3 Blackburn Rovers 3 Birmingham City
4 Blackpool 4 Brentford
5 Bolton Wanderers 5 Bristol City
6 Bradford City 6 Bristol Rovers
7 Burton Albion 7 Cambridge United
8 Bury 8 Charlton Athletic
9 Carlisle United 9 Cheltenham Town
10 Crewe Alexandra 10 Colchester United
11 Derby County 11 Coventry City
12 Doncaster Rovers 12 Crawley Town
13 Fleetwood Town 13 Exeter City
14 Grimsby Town 14 Forest Green Rovers
15 Hull City 15 Gillingham
16 Leeds United 16 Ipswich Town
17 Lincoln City 17 Luton Town
18 Macclesfield Town 18 Millwall
19 Mansfield Town 19 Milton Keynes Dons
20 Middlesbrough 20 Newport County
21 Morecambe 21 Northampton Town
22 Nottingham Forest 22 Norwich City
23 Notts County 23 Oxford United
24 Oldham Athletic 24 Peterborough United
25 Port Vale 25 Plymouth Argyle
26 Preston North End 26 Portsmouth
27 Rochdale 27 Queens Park Rangers
28 Rotherham United 28 Reading
29 Scunthorpe United 29 Southend United
30 Sheffield United 30 Stevenage
31 Sheffield Wednesday 31 Swindon Town
32 Shrewsbury Town 32 West Bromwich Albion
33 Sunderland 33 Wycombe Wanderers
34 Tranmere Rovers 34 Yeovil Town
35 Walsall    
36 Wigan Athletic    

Don't forget that you can get all of our fixtures fully synchronised to your phone, computer or tablet using our ECAL calendar!  Just click here for more information.

Advertisement block