Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Reading heroes to join STAR Hall of Fame!

Latest inductees to be honoured at Madejski Stadium

12 March 2018

The big night is approaching! On Tuesday 20th March 2018, the next 25 names to be inducted into the STAR Hall of Fame will be announced at our presentation evening in the Princess Suite at Madejski Stadium. The event is open and free to all Reading fans!

Match Previews

Ahead of the game | Table-topping test for Reading

12 March 2018

Among those to be inducted are internationals, record-holders, managers, club saviours, Olympic gold medallists, captains, local boys, even a journalist!

Several great names will be there in person to receive their awards, in the presence of the Mayor of Reading, say a few words and perhaps re-live a few moments of their most memorable televised match action.

These names will be added to the 24 already inducted since the Hall of Fame was launched by STAR in 2016…

Edward Haygarth
Harry Rogers
Charles Field
Horace Walker
Joey Warburton
Fred Bartholomew
Allen Foster
Joe Bailey
John Arlott
Jack Palethorpe
Tommy Tait
Maurice Edelston
Ronnie Blackman
Ted Drake
Johnny Walker
Gordon Neate
Steve Death
Roger Smee
Roy Tranter
Ady Williams
Jimmy Quinn
Graeme Murty
Steve Coppell
Gylfi Sigurdsson

This is a celebration night for our football community. Besides the main presentation, which will be compered by Paul Allen and Roger Titford, there will be a chance to interact with displays and people from Reading Community Trust, Reading FC Women, the Reading Collectors & Historians, the Former Players Association, the Tilehurst End podcast and the Reading & District Sunday League (which STAR is sponsoring this year).

The doors open at 7pm, there is a pay bar, the presentations start at 7.30pm and the evening is likely to go on until 10pm. Entry is free to all STAR members. The event is also open and free to non-members but we do require that non-members pre-register on the guest list (for capacity reasons) by emailing

Advertisement block