Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

How to help STAR add to our Hall of Fame

25 more names to be added to the list in 2019 event...

23 November 2018

Next year, the Supporters' Trust at Reading (STAR) will be inducting another 25 names to the Reading Football Club Hall of Fame on an evening which will no doubt see a host of Royals legends attend the ceremony once again.

At this year's event, legendary striker Kevin Doyle drove over from Ireland to receive his award in person, while record appearance maker Martin Hicks, current first team coach Michael Gilkes, former captain Phil Parkinson and many more were inducted into the presigious group of Royals legends.

STAR aim to induct 150 Reading FC legends by the time the club turns 150 years old in 2021 and the names inducted are spanning every decade of the Royals' existence, with every part of the club's history treated equally and honoured.

And our supporters can help nominate people for the next induction in 2019...

For 2019 STAR will be inducting at least one person from each of the 15 decades of RFC history – the 2010s back to the 1870s. You can choose to nominate for as many decades as you like, or just for one decade only!

For each decade you choose STAR need you to nominate at least two people who, in your opinion, deserve to be included in the Hall of Fame.

For each nomination you make could you please make a brief case why this person should go in and what their claim to fame is. This will help the panel decide the final list - and your words of endorsement may even be used in their STAR Hall of Fame profile which will appear online.

Club News

🎥 iFollow | 25 more inducted into STAR's Hall of Fame!

22 March 2018

As a reminder of the criteria / guidance for nomination...

The STAR Hall of Fame is open to any individual who has played an exceptional or distinctive part in the life of the club. Players, managers, officials, staff, supporters and journalists are all eligible though we expect players will make up the bulk of the inductees.

It is recommended that this is not seen as a ‘long service’ award. It is also suggested that people who began their careers at Reading but spent the major part of their careers in football or, exceptionally, the wider realms of life would be eligible. But people whose fame rests on achievements before they were associated with the club would not be eligible on the basis of that fame alone.

STAR are happy to receive your nominations by word document on an Excel sheet via email or as a hard copy handed into STAR Base as you please. But they are looking to get all the nominations in as soon as possible.

If you’ve got any queries or just want to send in one example to check it’s on the right lines, you can contact STAR at and you can check out all the current inductees in the Hall of Fame here.

Club News

Star-studded Royal evening at Hall of Fame induction

21 March 2018

But don't nominate any of these...they are already part of our growing Hall of Fame...

2010s: Gylfi Sigurdsson, Nick Hammond, Brian McDermott, Eamonn Dolan
2000s: Kevin Doyle, Steve Coppell, Graeme Murty
1990s: Ady Williams, Shaka Hislop, John Madejski, Jimmy Quinn, Phil Parkinson
1980s: Michael Gilkes, Martin Hicks, Ian Branfoot, Roy Tranter, Roger Smee
1970s: Steve Hetzke, Gordon Cumming, Steve Death
1960s: Denis Allen, Dick Spiers, Gordon Neate, Johnny Walker
1950s: Johnny Brooks, Ted Drake, Ron Blackman
1940s: Tony McPhee, Maurice Edelston
1930s: Arthur Bacon, Harry Sirrett, Tommy Tait, Jack Palethorpe
1920s: Billy McConnell, John Arlott
1910s: Ted Hanney, Joe Bailey, Allen Foster
1900s: Harry Matthews, Fred Bartholomew, Herbert Smith
1890s: Frank Deane, Joey Warburton, Horace Walker
1880s: Edgar Field, Charles Field
1870s: John Morgan, Harry Rogers, Edward Haygarth

Advertisement block