Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Ball number 1️⃣6️⃣ confirmed if Royals progress in Carabao Cup

Details of the Second Round draw

13 August 2019

Should Reading overcome Wycombe Wanderers in the First Round of the Carabao Cup on Tuesday, we’ll be looking out for ball number 16 in the southern section of the draw for the next stage when it takes place later in the evening.

Hosted by Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods, the draw will be conducted following the conclusion of Salford City’s Round One clash with Leeds United, which takes place simultaneously.

Either Royals supporters or Chairboys fans will have a vested interest when the numbers are picked – there will be a winner on the night at Adams Park. If the game isn’t settled in normal time, it’s straight to penalty kicks.

And there are a total of seven Premier League sides which enter the competition on the southern side of the draw, and a further six in the northern section. Cardiff City and Fulham, both relegated from the top tier last season, also enter the competition at this stage, while the final seven top-flight sides who are in European competition this year enter in Round Three.

The full list of draw numbers is as follows:

Ball Southern Section Northern Section
1 AFC Bournemouth Aston Villa
2 Brighton & Hove Albion Burnley
3 Cardiff City  Everton
4 Crystal Palace  Leicester City
5 Fulham  Newcastle United
6 Norwich City  Sheffield United
7 Southampton  Tranmere Rovers or
Hull City
8 Watford Grimsby Town or
Doncaster Rovers
9 West Ham United Wigan Athletic or
Stoke City
10 Portsmouth Port Vale or
Burton Albion
11 Colchester United or
Swindon Town
Nottingham Forest or
Fleetwood Town
12 AFC Wimbledon or
MK Dons
Bradford City or
Preston North End
13 Oxford United or
Peterborough United
Blackpool or
Macclesfield Town
14 Queens Park Rangers or
Bristol City
Blackburn Rovers or
Oldham Athletic
15 Plymouth Argyle or
Leyton Orient
Mansfield Town or
16 Wycombe Wanderers or
Accrington Stanley or
17 Charlton Athletic or
Forest Green Rovers
Scunthorpe United or
Derby County
18 Gillingham or
Newport County
Rochdale or
Bolton Wanderers
19 Stevenage or
Southend United
Huddersfield Town or
Lincoln City
20 Luton Town or
Ipswich Town
Middlesbrough or
Crewe Alexandra
21 Walsall or
Crawley Town
Shrewsbury Town or
Rotherham United
22 Bristol Rovers or
Cheltenham Town
Sheffield United or
23 Brentford or
Cambridge United
Salford City or
Leeds United
24 Coventry City or
Exeter City
Barnsley or
Carlisle United
25 Swansea City or
Northampton Town
26 West Bromwich Albion or

Resulting ties will be played week commencing 26 August with selected matches available live on Sky Sports.

Advertisement block