Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Look out for ball 2️⃣7️⃣ in the Carabao Cup draw

Prospective opponents announced for First Round

19 June 2019

Royals supporters will need to keep a keen eye out for ball 27 in the Southern Section of the Carabao Cup First Round draw when it takes place on Thursday evening.

Thursday 20th June is #FixtureReleaseDay – we learn our Sky Bet Championship schedule at 9am, before the Carabao Cup draw takes place at 7pm that evening.

A total of 70 clubs enter at this stage: all sides from the three EFL divisions, with the exception of Cardiff City and Fulham, who get a bye into the Second Round.

Ray Parlour and John Barnes will be picking the numbers out of the hat for the cup competition, with the draw taking place at Morrisons in Colindale, round the corner from Wembley Stadium.

As ever, the draw for this stage is regionalised – we’re in the Southern Section and we could potentially face local opposition such as Oxford, Swindon or Wycombe, home or away. But equally we could potentially be handed lengthy away trips to the likes of Plymouth Argyle or Colchester United – all will be revealed on Thursday evening.

Unlike some previous years, there is no seeding in place – meaning that we could be paired with one of the other nine Championship sides in the Southern Section.

Carabao Cup First Round: Draw numbers
Northern Section
Ball Southern Section
Accrington Stanley 1 AFC Wimbledon 1
Barnsley 2 Birmingham City 2
Blackburn Rovers 3 Brentford 3
Blackpool 4 Bristol City 4
Bolton Wanderers 5 Bristol Rovers 5
Bradford City 6 Cambridge United 6
Burton Albion 7 Charlton Athletic 7
Bury 8 Cheltenham Town 8
Carlisle United 9 Colchester United 9
Crewe Alexandra 10 Coventry City 10
Derby County 11 Crawley Town 11
Doncaster Rovers 12 Exeter City 12
Fleetwood Town 13 Forest Green Rovers 13
Grimsby Town 14 Gillingham 14
Huddersfield Town 15 Ipswich Town 15
Hull City 16 Leyton Orient 16
Leeds United 17 Luton Town 17
Lincoln City 18 Millwall 18
Macclesfield Town 19 MK Dons 19
Mansfield Town 20 Newport County 20
Middlesbrough 21 Northampton Town 21
Morecambe 22 Oxford United 22
Nottingham Forest 23 Peterborough United 23
Oldham Athletic 24 Plymouth Argyle 24
Port Vale 25 Portsmouth 25
Preston North End 26 Queens Park Rangers 26
Rochdale 27 Reading 27
Rotherham United 28 Southend United 28
Salford City 29 Stevenage 29
Scunthorpe United 30 Swansea City 30
Sheffield Wednesday 31 Swindon Town 31
Shrewsbury Town 32 Walsall 32
Stoke City 33 West Bromwich Albion 33
Sunderland 34 Wycombe Wanderers 34
Tranmere Rovers 35    
Wigan Athletic 36    

Advertisement block