Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

25 more names inducted into STAR’s Hall of Fame

Club legends recognised at Madejski Stadium

22 March 2019

25 new names were added to the Supporters’ Trust at Reading Hall of Fame earlier this week at another grand event at Madejski Stadium.

Contributions to the club’s successes from across the length of our history were recognised as more key figures were immortalised.

Present to receive their awards were players spanning from the 1950s – Jimmy Wheeler – to the 2000s – Nicky Shorey, taking in Bobby Williams, Steve Richardson and Keith McPherson on the way. Ivar Ingimarsson sent fond greetings from Iceland.

The 90- minute show revealed fascinating slices of the club’s history, spliced with rare photos and footage and was compered by Roger Titford (STAR) and Paul Allen.


The Deputy Mayor of Reading, Paul Woodward, joined the presentation group and received an award on behalf of Stanley Hayward, Mayor of Reading exactly a hundred years ago. Hayward was a famous goal-scoring goalkeeper in the club’s amateur days.

STAR member Kate Wynn emphasised the continuity of our football family by receiving an award on behalf of her grandfather Alf Messer, a star of the 1920s, while supporter Paul Evans spoke on behalf of his father Maurice Evans, inducted for the 1960s, both a great player and a great manager of the club.


Going further back to the moment of the club’s foundation STAR honoured James Simonds, President of the club from 1871 to 1895 and the citation was received by his great-granddaughter Jacquie Drayton. She admitted she wasn’t a Reading fan – but she is now!

The full list of inductees follows and you can read more about them on the Heritage section of the STAR website by clicking here. There are a few spare copies of the commemorative brochure produced for the evening which can be picked up at STAR Base on matchday.

STAR Hall of Fame – March 2019 inductees

  • 1870s – James Simonds
  • 1880s – Stanley Hayward
  • 1890s – Stan Justins; Johnny Holt
  • 1900s – Ernie Watts; Billy Henderson
  • 1910s – Jack Smith
  • 1920s – Bert Eggo; Alf Messer
  • 1930s – Billy Butler
  • 1940s – Joe Edelston
  • 1950s – Jimmy Wallbanks; Jimmy Wheeler
  • 1960s – Maurice Evans; Colin Meldrum
  • 1970s – Bobby Williams
  • 1980s – Stuart Beavon; Steve Richardson
  • 1990s – Keith McPherson; Mick Gooding
  • 2000s – Nicky Shorey; Dave Kitson; Ivar Ingimarsson
  • 2010s – Alex Pearce; David Downs

Advertisement block