Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Hall of Fame to grow again in STAR extravaganza on Sunday

Supporters Trust at Reading to host latest Hall of Fame event this weeekend...

14 March 2019

On Sunday, the Supporters' Trust at Reading (STAR) will be inducting another 25 names into the Reading Football Club Hall of Fame on an evening which will no doubt see a host of Royals legends attend the ceremony once again.

What is the Hall of Fame? It’s a celebration, a chance to enjoy a slice of our long history and mingle with those who help make the club what it is.

STAR aim to induct 150 Reading FC legends by the time the club turns 150 years old in 2021 and the names inducted are spanning every decade of the Royals' existence, with every part of the club's history treated equally and honoured.

Nominations for the STAR Hall of Fame are open to any individual who has played an exceptional or distinctive part in the life of the club. Players, managers, officials, staff, supporters and journalists are all eligible, though players will make up the bulk of the inductees.

At last year's event, legendary striker Kevin Doyle drove over from Ireland to receive his award in person, while record appearance maker Martin Hicks, club legend Michael Gilkes, former captain Phil Parkinson and many more were inducted into the prestigious group of Royals legends.

The evening itself is open and cost-free to all - not just STAR members! Any supporter can come and celebrate a little of our history in the Princess Suite on Sunday.

This year’s list contains six managers, one mayor, one supporter, some of our brightest full-back phenomenons we've seen, three astonishing bargain buys, five internationals and more!

The latest Hall of Fame is taking place on Sunday 17th March, 7pm in the Princess Suite at Madejski Stadium. Entry is FREE to all supporters. Doors open at 6.30pm.

This is the list of inductees to date and our Hall of Fame will grow a little larger on Sunday. Make sure you are there to witness it!

2010s: Gylfi Sigurðsson, Nick Hammond, Brian McDermott, Eamonn Dolan
2000s: Kevin Doyle, Steve Coppell, Graeme Murty
1990s: Ady Williams, Shaka Hislop, John Madejski, Jimmy Quinn, Phil Parkinson
1980s: Michael Gilkes, Martin Hicks, Ian Branfoot, Roy Tranter, Roger Smee
1970s: Steve Hetzke, Gordon Cumming, Steve Death
1960s: Denis Allen, Dick Spiers, Gordon Neate, Johnny Walker
1950s: Johnny Brooks, Ted Drake, Ron Blackman
1940s: Tony McPhee, Maurice Edelston
1930s: Arthur Bacon, Harry Sirrett, Tommy Tait, Jack Palethorpe
1920s: Billy McConnell, John Arlott
1910s: Ted Hanney, Joe Bailey, Allen Foster
1900s: Harry Matthews, Fred Bartholomew, Herbert Smith
1890s: Frank Deane, Joey Warburton, Horace Walker
1880s: Edgar Field, Charles Field
1870s: John Morgan, Harry Rogers, Edward Haygarth

Advertisement block