Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

🤴 Rafael crowned as your Player of the Season 2019-20!

Brazilian stopper takes the award

22 July 2020

The votes have been counted and the result is in. As voted by you – the fans – our 2019-20 Player of the Season is Rafael!

It has been an eye-catching first season in English football for the Brazilian.

Since joining Reading from Sampdoria last summer, it hasn’t taken long for the shot-stopper to become a favourite of the Royals faithful.

Hardly could he have wished for a better start to his life in Berkshire than by making a couple of vital penalty saves in a shoot-out on his debut, away at local rivals Wycombe Wanderers – helping us march on to the next round of the Carabao Cup.

Some of the saves have been simply exceptional. Who could forget that triple-save on New Year’s Day away at Fulham? Or that incredible 90th-minute stop to deny QPR a share of the spoils on Boxing Day?

Over the course of the campaign, 13 clean sheets is a great reflection on some of his displays between the sticks, as well as those teammates in front who have done their utmost to reduce his workload.

Off the pitch, he remains a hugely popular figure too. He mastered the English language quicker than you would have thought possible, he’s always keen for a chat with any Royals supporter… and in the dressing room, a key member of the team too.

In our Honesty Box feature earlier in the season, fellow ‘goalkeepers union’ member Sam Walker coined the term ‘Brazilian wall’, as well as calling him ‘genuinely one of the best blokes I’ve come across in the game’. You won’t find a bad word said about his character.

Those are just some of the factors that have contributed to him being so well-liked by the Royals fans… and making him a very worthy winner of the Player of the Season award for 2019-20.

Congratulations, Rafael – your name goes onto our roll of honour!

Season Player of the Season
1963-64 Colin Meldrum
1964-65 Colin Meldrum
1965-66 Jimmy Wheeler
1966-67 George Harris
1967-68 Mike Dixon
1968-69 Peter Silvester
1969-70 Steve Death
1970-71 Terry Bell
1971-72 Gordon Cumming
1972-73 Steve Death
1973-74 Steve Death
1974-75 Robin Friday
1975-76 Robin Friday
1976-77 Steve Death
1977-78 Richie Bowman
1978-79 Richie Bowman
1979-80 Mark White
1980-81 Steve Hetzke
1981-82 Jerry Williams
1982-83 Steve Richardson
1983-84 Steve Richardson
1984-85 Steve Wood
1985-86 Steve Wood
1986-87 Kevin Bremner
1987-88 Steve Francis
1988-89 Trevor Senior
1989-90 Martin Hicks
1990-91 Keith McPherson
1991-92 Mick Gooding
1992-93 Mick Gooding
1993-94 Dylan Kerr
1994-95 Shaka Hislop
1995-96 Mick Gooding
1996-97 Trevor Morley
1997-98 Phil Parkinson
1998-99 Phil Parkinson
1999-00 Darren Caskey
2000-01 Martin Butler
2001-02 Graeme Murty
2002-03 James Harper
2003-04 Graeme Murty
2004-05 Dave Kitson 
2005-06 Kevin Doyle 
2006-07 Ivar Ingimarsson 
2007-08 Stephen Hunt 
2008-09 Chris Armstrong 
2009-10 Gylfi Sigurðsson 
2010-11 Shane Long 
2011-12 Alex Pearce 
2012-13 Adam Le Fondre 
2013-14 Jordan Obita 
2014-15 Adam Federici 
2015-16 Ali Al-Habsi 
2016-17 Ali Al-Habsi 
2017-18 Liam Moore 
2018-19 Andy Rinomhota
2019-20 Rafael

Advertisement block